La Galbi (Korean Bbq Short Ribs) with Oven

Since no dining out, I have been wondering if I can make LA GALBI at home without using grill, as I don’t have a good and easy to use grill in my house.

After a couple of tries, I am quite happy with the results. The recipe below works both for wok fry and oven. I personally prefer oven, as it can make a big batch and is easy to clean. If you only make a small batch, wok also works.

Making the sauce from scratch (or use pre-made ones):

  • 2/3 cup chicken broth or water
  • 2/3 soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup rice wine, such as soju or vodka
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1tbsp houston sauce (opt)
  • 1tsp black pepper
  • minced garlic, chopped scallions
  • 1/2 kiwi paste

Kiwi helps making the meat tender. You can also add other fruits, such as apple or pear paste if you like more fruit flavor.

The sauce above is enough for marinating 15 ~20 short ribs. I use a zip bag to marinate the ribs for about 2 hours.

Oven preheat to 400f.

Protect your baking pan with foil. Use a cooking rack to let the oil and sauce drip white baking. Alternatively, you can fold a piece of foil like a paper fan to use for draining.

Bake for ~10 minutes, flip the meat in the middle. Broil each side 1~2 minutes. Adjust the time based on your oven and your preference.